Morningside Drive

1 November 12

NaNoWriMo

This has got to be the MEME of all MEME’s!

Ya’ know – there just aren’t enough hours and minutes in a day already, but I let myself get “sucked in” by NaNoWriMo [National Novel Writing Month], and now I find a mystery novel oozing out of my fingers. The name will be Left Wheel Forward. “An older woman, confined to a wheelchair and in chronic pain, gets out and about with her teen-aged grandson to help solve the murder of a neighbor. In the process she begins to learn self-defense techniques a disabled person can use, and puts them to use when the murderers attack her. Her family is unenthusiastic at first, wanting to protect her, but in the end they are proud of her independence and initiative.”

I understand that sometimes “characters don’t want to go there,” and that summary might change some. As I envision it, the protagonist is very loosely autobiographical. The events are not. I’ve never been involved in a murder – hope never to be involved in a murder. If I were, I don’t think I would get involved to the extent that my heroine does – but then, maybe I would! Won’t know unless it should happen – and I DON’T want it to happen to any of my family, friends, or neighbors! It’s fun, however, to play around with “what if’s.”

You can keep track of my progress with the widget in the right-hand column. I trust I will accomplish the goal of 50,000 words in November.

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds like a great premise. You can do it!

    Comment by triciapimental — 1 November 12 @ 10:47 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 787 other followers

