Morningside Drive

21 August 09

Simplicity for 8/21/08

Filed under: Daybook,Memes — by turtlemom3 @ 10:37 am
Simple Womans Daybook

Simple Woman's Daybook

Editor-in-Chief: Turtlemom in the great SE of the USA

The clock says: 8:25am

The weather outside is: getting ready to be rainy

Little scraps from my desk: a case, a grocery list, 3 pictures

Blessings list: My Ol’ Curmudgeon! The Three Musketeers (my kids)! The Softball Team (grandchildren) +1

I am wearing: green fuzzy robe, teal crocs and pink nightgown

What’s in the reading basket: The Sister Pelegia series by Boris Akunin

Worthy to watch: My Fair Lady with Rex Harrison and Audry Hepburn!

About town: Went to Publix yesterday – bought some soap we didn’t need. Ol’ Curmudgeon accused me of being a child of the Depression Era! Well, I’m not. I’m the child of a child of the Depression Era!

Music to my ears: Slavonic Liturgy

Steps towards simplicity: Dumping out most of the toys from the grandchildren’s corners – they have outgrown them!

My idea corner: found an old-fashioned strawberry shortcake recipe – Ol’ Curmudgeon sezs he’ll make it!!

Kitchen journal: Ol’ Curmudgeon, thank goodness, does most of the cooking!

A home comfort: My recliner!

Nature notes: backyard is sorta groomed

Prayer tablet: For those with cancer and other disabling diseases

On my mind: preparation of my spirit for death

Pondering these words: There is both a physical and a spiritual fast. In the physical fast the body abstains from food and drink. In the spiritual fast, the faster abstains from evil intentions, words and deeds. One who truly fasts abstains from anger, rage, malice, and vengeance. One who truly fasts abstains from idle and foul talk, empty rhetoric, slander, condemnation, flattery, lying and all manner of spiteful talk. In a word, a real faster is one who withdraws from all evil.
As much as you subtract from the body, so much will you add to the strength of the soul.
~*~ Holy Hierarch Basil the Great

My praise paper: Akathist of Thanksgiving

Bible notes:

2 Corinthians 4:13-18
13And since we have the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, “I believed and therefore I spoke,” we also believe and therefore speak,
14knowing that He who raised up the Lord Jesus will also raise us up with Jesus, and will present us with you.
15 For all things are for your sakes, that grace, having spread through the many, may cause thanksgiving to abound to the glory of God.
16 Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day.
17 For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory,
18 while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

In my creative nook: Making a bed for Emmy (my wonderful service dog)

Book report: Finishing Patricia Cornwell’s Trace; getting ready to start Predator; I re-read this series from time to time

Calendar additions: Grandsons’ birthdays

Taking out an ad:
Morningside Drive
(wherein I post Ladys Daybook pages and archived pages from my past):
https://morningsidedrive.wordpress.com
Turtlerock
(wherein I post mainly the daily integration of the Church Calendar into my life):
http://turtlemom3.wordpress.com
The Painted Turtle
(wherein, like a painted turtle, I post a montage of this and that):
http://turtlemom.wordpress.com
Living With the Woof
(wherein I detail my life with my mobility service dog, Emmy):
http://livingwiththewoof.wordpress.com
The Funnies Etc
(wherein I post those silly or inspirational or humorous e-mail posts received from various friends)
http://thefunniesetc.wordpress.com

Parting words to the Society: Whosoever rejects the fasts, deprives himself and others of weapons against his own much-suffering flesh and against the devil, who have power over us especially as the result of our intemperance.
~*~ Holy Righteous John of Kronstadt

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

