Morningside Drive

28 April 10

[Archive April 25, 2006]

Filed under: Archive,High School — by turtlemom3 @ 8:39 pm

Henry “Ar”

I just had word that my old and dear friend Henry “Ar” died 2 days ago. God bless him. We had known each other for about 45 years off and on. We met when I was visiting family up in Kingsport TN back in ’61 or ’62, and went out a few times while I was there. He was courtly and sweet. We became friends and remained in touch off and on over the years (mostly off until the last 3 years when he finally came, kicking and screaming, into the electronic age and we could correspond via e-mail and talk via cell-phones).

His oldest son called me today – he was going through all the numbers programmed into Henry’s cellphone to notify people. What a hard thing to do.

Henry lived in a small town in a deep Southern state. He was married and divorced with children and grandchildren. He adored his grandchildren. When he called he would talk about them and I would talk about ours. We kept saying we should get together, but his work and my disability kept that from happening. He developed heart and lung problems over the years – some probably genetic, some related to weight and lack of exercise. I don’t recall him smoking, but he may have.

On Sunday he died. I keep remembering the young man he was back in ’61/’62: The fun we had that summer, the times he came to Atlanta and I would see him again (with husband in tow), the phone calls and silly e-mails. He never learned to cut off all the “tags” when he forwarded e-mails.

May God bless him and keep him.

Memory Eternal.
Posted by Elizabeth at 4/25/2006 11:27:00 AM
1 comments:

Mimi said…

May his Memory Be Eternal. I’m sorry, Elizabeth.
4/25/2006 1:40 PM

ADDENDUM 4/28/10
Since this was posted, I have lost a number of other people. Robert S – a sweet man slightly older than I who was in our woodworking and woodturning groups. My Uncle O – not really my bio-uncle, he “belonged” to my ex-husband’s family, but he graciously considered me his niece long after that old marriage had ended. In his penultimate year, he used to collect Splenda packages for me from the restaurants he went to – and he ate out a lot! I still have a box of them, neatly held together with rubber bands. I tear-up every time I use some of them. And Jim G – who found our house for us. He also found our daughter’s house and our youngest son’s first house in the Cumming area. He died a painful death from bone cancer. Doug H died in January. He was my first “real” boyfriend. I was not surprised, but I was shocked. He had lung cancer.

My 50th high school anniversary is next week. Nearly 1/2 of the class has died! A number of them were people I really hoped to see again. But we had lost touch with each other, and it is my great loss.

May their Memories be Eternal!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

